Xperia XZ Premium unveiled with 4K HDR display and Motion Eye camera with super slow motion video

by XB on 27th February 2017

in Featured Content, Videos, Xperia XZ series

Sony Mobile has officially announced the Xperia XZ Premium and XZ Premium Dual at MWC 2017. The Xperia XZ Premium’s big new features include a 5.5-inch 4K HDR smartphone display and the introduction of Sony’s memory-embedded stacked image sensor, which is capable of 960 frames per second super slow motion video.

The rear camera uses a 1/2.3-inch 19MP camera sensor with a higher pixel pitch (1.22μm), 19% higher compared to previous Xperia offerings. This also includes a 25mm wide G Lens F2.0. Sony’s new Motion Eye technology allows for predictive photo capture. Triple image sensing technology makes a return and there is now an anti-distortion shutter. Front-facing camera duties are taken care of by a 13MP 1/3.06-inch Exmor RS sensor with 22mm wide angle F2.0 lens.

The Xperia XZ Premium comes with the latest silicon, incorporating the flagship Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 chipset. Other features include 4GB RAM and 64GB internal storage across both single SIM and dual SIM variants. Finally, Sony has moved away from eMMC storage to Universal Flash Storage (UFS) instead, which Sony says is 3x times faster.

Sony has used the loop surface design, first seen with the Xperia XZ, and Corning Gorilla Glass 5 features on both the front and rear of the handset. The top and bottom edges have been diamond cut and even the camera lens ring is made out of stainless steel for a premium look.

Other features include a 3230mAh embedded battery for”all-day” battery performance, Bluetooth 5.0, Qualcomm Quick Charge 3.0, IP65/IP68 dust and water resistance, USB Type-C port, a 3.5mm headphone jack and Stereo speaker with S-Force Front Surround.

The Sony Xperia XZ Premium has dimensions of 156 x 77 x 7.9 mm and weighs 195g. The handset will launch in Luminous Chrome and Deepsea Black colours when it is released in late Spring 2017.

Via Sony Mobile Blog.

Previous post:

Next post: